One of my recent great finds is the Steamy Kitchen blog by Jaden in Florida (right by my in-laws actually!). Her food photography is gorgeous, her writing entertaining, and her instructions incomparably thorough. I must confess at the risk of sounding obsessive that I have already tried many of her recipes and love every one of them. Back to the matter at hand though.

A couple of Saturdays ago I sprang out of bed before Jason and felt inspired to make breakfast. Not just the typical scrambled egg breakfast, but the German pancakes on SK. I generally don’t cook the “right” way – meaning have all the ingredients out and ready for me – but for the sake of a beauty shot, I did and found out that it was very helpful! I should probably continue doing that from now on. As you can see, this recipe has a fairly short ingredient and assembly list which is perfect for breakfast. Well, at least for me because my brain doesn’t fully function until 30 minutes after I get up.

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

German Oven Pancakes
1/2 cup of all-purpose flour, sifted
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk (I used mostly 1% milk and then a splash of cream because we didn’t have whole in the house)
2 tablespoons melted butter (shown in picture pre-melting)
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon of salt              
                                                            german_ingred.jpg

Preheat the oven to 450F and position the rack in the middle or lower part of the oven. According to Jaden the pancakes rise even higher with the convection setting at 425F so I used that option on my oven for the first time for this recipe! More on my thoughts on that later. Here are the assembly instructions straight from Jaden’s website:

  1. Beat eggs in a large bowl. Stir in the milk, melted butter, salt and sugar. Gradually add flour to egg mixture, a spoonful at a time. Have your child help you by spooning the flour in while you whisk by hand. You could also just sift the flour directly into the bowl, which is what we do. Make sure the flour is well incorporated in the batter with no lumps.
  2. Lightly spray a 9”-11” oven-safe skillet (no plastic handles or teflon!) with cooking spray. Pour batter in the skillet. Bake 12-18 minutes – depending on the type of skillet or pan you use. It’s fun to turn on the oven light and watch the pancake form! Top with fruit, granola, whipped cream or just eat it plain. You can also mix chocolate chips in the batter.

I used our 12″ Lodge cast iron skillet for this and sauteed up a sliced Macintosh apple with some brown sugar and water to create a syrup.

                                 german_close.jpg                    german_side.jpg

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

The pancake turned out VERY delicious and did in fact puff up in the oven. I think perhaps my oven is a bit hot because 425F for 12 minutes, the outside of the pancake slightly burnt on some outside spots and was slightly undercooked in the middle on some spots. Next time I make this (perhaps this weekend!), I will set the temp to 400F and see how they turn out.

Jason took pictures of me peering into the window as the pancakes baked but for the sake of not embarassing myself, I will not put them up. However, here’s a cute picture of Jason happily eating the bacon I baked in the oven along with the pancake. The bacon was a bit overdone due to some neglect incurred on my part whilst I was admiring the pretty pancake, but bacon is bacon and was enjoyed regardless.
                                                           jason_bacon.jpg

* side note: Even though I have two posts up with the fact that I made two unique breakfasts, please do not be disillusioned into thinking this is a regular occurrence or that I am in any way a morning person! These are in fact unprecedented events. But maybe I’m starting a trend and will continue to make nice breakfasts on the weekend… 🙂 Only time can tell!
                                                                          

