German Pancake that is…but this time it was eaten more as a lunch since Jason and I got up uncharacteristcially late on Saturday morning. Since it was 12 PM, I can’t even say for sure that we could still refer to it as morning.  We were both feeling quite lazy so I decided it would be a perfect morning for the easy German Pancakes I had made a couple of weekends ago. 

I had a bit of a chocolate craving so wanted to add chocolate chips but decided to go the healthier route of adding a tablespoon of cocoa powder instead. I also decided to experiment with the oven settings like I said I would. I preheated and started off the pancake in a 400F oven on the convection setting.

After about 7 minutes, I looked into the oven and not only was the pancake not puffing up, it looked barely dry on top. I decided at this point that I needed to take action. I cranked (more like pushed the buttons on) the oven to increase the heat up to 425F like the original recipe had specified. As the temperature passed the 415F mark, the pancake started to rise up the sides finally! 10 minutes later, the temperature worked itself up to 425F and it looked perfect (except for a tiny hole). I let it brown a bit more for a minute or two and then pulled it out.
                                          german_pan2.jpggerman_whole2.jpg

As you can see, it looks quite different from the first one I made. It had a very different texture as well. It was slightly less eggy and definitely a bit more dry, most likely due to the longer time in the oven at a lower temperature. The taste profile was very similar despite the addition of the cocoa powder which leads me to the only logical conclusion, more cocoa next time! 

We didn’t eat it plain this time either. I melted 1 teaspoon of butter in a small sauté pan and added three sliced bananas. After they softened a bit, I added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of water. This is the delicious finished product (sans a bit of the pancake that was ripped off and tried by my mother who gave it a thumbs up):
                                                       german_panban.jpg

Toppings aside, Jason likes the second pancake better whereas I would have liked something in between. We both definitely prefer the banana topping.

I think that next time, meaning most likely this weekend, I will start the pancake at 425F and then lower it to 400F after about 7 minutes. We’ll see how that turns out…hopefully it will be the perfect blend!

