Last year I was sent to London for work a few times over the course of 6 months. Not only was the pressure of the assignment incredible, but I was away from Jason and my family for longs periods of time and I was also trying to plan my wedding. Good thing I had such a lovely fiancé – now husband – who took everything in stride and picked up on the planning.

On top of taking over wedding planning in my absence, at the last minute he also flew in on a typical London Saturday in January (read: cold and rainy) so that he could spend the weekend avec moi! This was Jason’s first trip to London and he would only be there for 48 hours. Where did I insist on taking him first?

No, not to see Big Ben or Buckingham Palace, but to Borough Market of course!

Borough Market is situated on the south side of the Thames River and very close to London Bridge. Much to my delight, this meant that it was a quick 10 minute walk from the corporate apartment where I had been living. My Saturday excursions there were the best respites from the pressures of work.

The market has offerings ranging from fresh meats, fish, produce, and cheeses to flavored olive oils, breads, and prepared food stalls. It’s definitely one of the most comprehensive markets I have ever visited. I even tried my first ever pork pie there!

Unfortunately, I don’t have as many pictures of our trip there to share with you because:

  • I was too busy showing Jason all of the goodies that I had discovered.
  • It was cold and rainy that day as I had earlier mentioned
  • We had yet to learn the settings on our camera so quite a few of the pictures we were taking were coming out blurry.
  • Really though, pictures would not do this place justice. It’s much better in person so please do go for a visit on your next trip across the pond if you’re in the US. If you’re in London, you have no excuse not to be going every Saturday!

    The picture I most regret not taking is that of a falafel sandwich sold there. Only one stand sells them at the market and it’s across from a man making delicious raclette served over potatoes, which you can smell from many stands away. I was so focused on enjoying my falafel sandwich that I forgot to take a break and snap a picture!

    In fact, they are so delicious that I took my friend and fellow falafel lover S to the market on a separate occasion just for them. Imagine fresh fried falafel balls surrounded by a warm, chewy, whole wheat pita (none of that pried-open-pita-so-that-each-side-is-so-thin-the-tahini-soaks-through-within-a-minute business) spread with hummus and topped with lettuce, tomato, pickled veggies, tahini, and hot sauce.

    Are you drooling yet??? If not, keep scrolling for pictures of more delicious foods!

    bm_chocolates.jpgbm_chocolate_chunks.jpg
    Different types of chocolate covered nuts and fruits along with huge slabs of chocolate

    bm_brownie_man.jpg
    A tower of brownies and a brownie man!

    bm_breads.jpg
    All kinds of freshly baked breads

    bm_ostrich_egg.jpg
    Me with an ostrich egg

    bm_oysters.jpg
    Raw oysters. You could take them home or even better, have them shuck them right away and slurp ’em up right there.

    bm_shark_head.jpg
    A shark head proudly on display at the fish stall

    bm_tomatoes1.jpg
    Fresh vine-ripened tomatoes along with bottled tomato products

    bm_haggis.jpg
    Haggis!

    bm_comte.jpg
    And the piece de resistance, Comte cheese so good that it has made me disappointed in the quality of cheese sold in America. Look at the picture! Those wheels were GINORMOUS. You can compare them against the man standing in the background on the left. I have yet to find a Comte as creamy and subtly sharp as those sold at Borough Market. On Jason and my Paris trip next year, I am determined to eat as much Comte as humanly possible. Maybe I can try to smuggle some back for my cheese loving friends as well! You know who you are 😉

